Big Things Poppin'

So I’m back in L.A. Do you know what this means? Quality radio! And by quality, I mean better than D.C.’s radio options. I’m not one to hate but let’s be real. It’s L.A. However, Kane, I do miss you and your “War of the Roses” segment.

My hip hop radio stations here blast the hyphy which is just delicious and I think DJ Spinderella is still holding it down at 100.3 Awesome. I miss Steve Harvey preaching it to the choir in the mornings, though. Sniff. At least I can catch Morning Becomes Eclectic from now on so I can get my indie fix. Haha. Oh, and Love Songs on the KOST with Karen Sharp kills me every time. Love Songs on the KOST is equivalent to Delilah After Dark. Love dedications and all that mushy shit. I love when people request songs like “When a Man Loves a Woman.”

Recently, I discovered Roscoe Umali after hearing his song “Live It Up” on Power 106 (Where Hip Hop Lives!). I’m all about representing (He’s a Los Angeleno and Filipino so there you go) so here’s a YouTube link for your listening pleasure. His debut album is still in the works and features the likes of E-40, Talib Kweli, Murphy Lee, and Dead Prez. Production talent from Amil G and DJ Khalil. Not too shabby at all.

Remix with Pitbull and Sinful

Leave a Reply

