Mixtape

I love mixtapes. Although I think they are now obsolete because radios no longer have tape decks attached. That’s messed up. I used to make mixtapes all the time as a kid. I’d sit in my room and wait for that one song on the radio to come on, poise my finger over the record/play button, and then push the buttons simultaneously after the DJ introduced the song. At the time, that was the only way I’d get new music because my parents would only allow me to buy an album once every three months or so. They thought spending 10 dollars on a cassette was a waste of money. Unless, of course, I was buying something they liked. Like Elvis or Earth, Wind, and Fire, artists I appreciate now but when you’re twelve and are DYING for that new No Doubt album with Spiderwebs, Elvis and Earth, Wind, and Fire have zero relevance.

My favorite part about making mixtapes was coming up with the theme and revolving all the songs around that one theme. Isn’t that everybody’s? I made one mixtape with the theme, “Cuban Dance Party,” which consisted solely of songs from Gloria Estefan’s Gloria! album. I know, I should’ve just called it Gloria! but “Cuban Dance Party” sounded so much better. Besides, I still had enough tape to include other Gloria-esque songs.

Lately I’ve been on this empowerment trip, listening to all my favorite divas and Lilith Fair ladies. Don’t judge. Listening to the new Beyonce album, Liz Phair, and Aretha Franklin on rotation has been very therapeutic for me. These women tell it like it is.

That said, where my girls at?

MIXTAPE: “Ladies is Pimps Too

Ladies Night – Lil’ Kim, Angie Martinez, Lisa “Left Eye” Lopes, Missy Elliot

Fuck and Run – Liz Phair

Superwoman – Alicia Keys

Ego – Beyonce

Do Right Woman, Do Right Man – Aretha Franklin

Pussycat – Missy Elliot

I Think I’m Paranoid – Garbage

Strong Enough – Sheryl Crow

My Lovin’ (You’re Never Gonna Get It) – En Vogue

Tyrone – Erykah Badu

Survivor – Destiny’s Child

Right Through You – Alanis Morissette

The Next Messiah – Jenny Lewis

Objection (Tango) – Shakira

Who’s That Girl? – Eve

Independent Woman– Destiny’s Child

Single Ladies (Put a Ring On It) – Beyonce

I’m Every Woman – Chaka Khan

Hollaback Girl – Gwen Stefani

The Greatest – Cat Power

Ring the Alarm – Beyonce

Criminal – Fiona Apple

After the Gold Rush – Dolly Parton, Emmylou Harris, Linda Ronstadt

Volcano Girls – Veruca Salt

Shoop – Salt n Peppa

No Scrubs – TLC

No More Drama – Mary J. Blige

It’s Not Right But It’s Okay – Whitney Houston

More Than a Woman – Aaliyah

Zion – Lauryn Hill

Leave a Reply

