Yo, Pixar!

I came across this open letter from NPR blogger Linda Holmes to my beloved Pixar calling for a movie “about a girl who is not a princess.” It was posted earlier this month so I’m a bit late, but it’s definitely worth noting.

Maybe I’m a “bad feminist” for saying that I love a good princess movie but an animated movie about a girl who isn’t a princess would be fantastic. Now that I think about it, I wonder what Up would’ve been like if (SPOILER ALERT) we had Ellie take us on this journey instead of Carl. Perhaps the same as gender shouldn’t matter. Yet, how great would it have been to see a lady holding it down? We hardly see that in animated movies let alone live action. I loved Ellie instantly because she reminded me of when I was in high school, daydreaming out loud with my best girlfriends about our ambitious plans and extraordinary adventures around the world. My after school friends, Shounan and Charis, and I would spend hours in the library telling each other that one day we’d meet in Belgravia for tea or rough it somewhere in China, all the while carefully avoiding the stern looks of Sister Joanne for talking above library volume level.

But back to Up. Yo, Pixar! Come up with a story about a character like Ellie. You all are so imaginative and zany and awesome. It shouldn’t be that hard, right?

up01.jpeg

Ellie meets her match in the timid but equally curious aspiring explorer Carl. My heart. It swells.

SOURCE: Dear Pixar, From All The Girls With Band-Aids On Their Knees

Leave a Reply

