To My Grad School Friends

Dear Grad School Friends,

How did you survive the dreaded “waiting game?” So far have endured one interview wherein I burst into tears halfway* and then will fly across the country for one more interview in two weeks (!!!!) from the dream school and – and – AND…I don’t wanna cry! I dooooon’t wanna crrrrry! Should hear back from schools by April at the latest.

I have lots of respect for you all and I miss all of you terribly as, seems to be the case with most of my friends, you are all scattered across the world being intelligent adventurous mofos. I am one proud mama jamma.

Love,

Genny

*Hey, they asked me personal questions. According to Gigi, “they might as well asked u to strip and bend over so they could see to ur core.” Girlfriend ain’t lyin’. That ish had me so stressed I needed a drink afterward to calm down. And, no, I am not being overdramatic.

3 comments

  1. oh hello. totally got a shout out. geez i sound so profane. well, so it is. just poppin’ round to say hullo… and to let you know that vodafone considers ur pictures to be of adult content and therefore doesn’t let me see them.

  2. Hang in there, man! I know how the waiting game goes. I just pretended I never applied. Shoot, I even started planning for next year.

  3. Girl, I don’t know.
    I managed 1 interview out of the 19 med schools I applied to. Had to fly into 18 degree Omaha with what I suspected was the flu with almost a week’s worth of no sleep but I kept telling myself… this is it. This is your one and only. Failure is not an option.

    The interview went extraordinarily well but I haven’t heard back yet and it’s KILLING ME! I’m suppose to hear this week at the earliest next week at the latest — or so they say…

    You just gotta know what you’re worth, that you have it in you, and just keep that sophisticated, confident, driven chin up. All your worries and stress you leave at the door. You go in there, knock them dead with your amazing charm wit and talent, then and only then can you leave and pick up your worries and stress again… if they’re even still there.

    You’re fabulous Genny, even when you cry. You have it in you to do great things, and great things will come. So don’t even worry about it! It’s set in stone in my mind because I know you’d never accept less for yourself anyway.

    Am I right or am I right?

    xo, L


Leave a Reply

